MINUTES OF THE MCDONOUGH COUNTY BOARD JANUARY 17, 2024

The monthly meeting of the McDonough County Board was held at the McDonough County Courthouse, in Courtroom 201 at 7:00 p.m. Roll call resulted in 15 present, and 6 absent. Members Vicky Kipling, Dave Nissen, Dustin Berg, Jerry Raby, Dave Cortelyou, and Larry Aurelio were absent. Sheriff Nick Petitgout made the opening declaration. Chair Schwerer led the Pledge of Allegiance.

EXHIBIT 1

Board Member Durkin moved with a second by Board Member Chapman to approve the minutes of December 20, 2023 with one correction. Motion carried with a voice vote.

EXHIBIT 2

No report.

EXHIBIT 3

The report of Sales Tax collected in October, 2023 was received and filed. County Sales Tax, Public Safety Tax, Cannabis Tax, and Transportation Tax.

EXHIBIT 4

The report of Balances and Investments from County Treasurer Graves for the month of December, 2023 was received and filed.

EXHIBIT 5

The report of Circuit Clerk Fischer for the month of December, 2023 was received and filed.

EXHIBIT 6

The report from County Clerk DeJaynes on Warrants Issued in Vacation for the month of December, 2023 was received and filed.

<u>EXHIBIT 7</u>

The Transfer of Appropriations of Monies was referred to the Finance Committee. Finance Chair Hiel reported the finance committee did not transfer any funds as **Exhibit 7A**

EXHIBIT 8

Board Member Erlandson moved with a second by Board Member Foster to approve the report of the Finance Committee as read. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 15 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 6 absent as **Exhibit 8A.**

EXHIBIT 9

Board Member Durkin moved with a second by Board Member Blakeley to dispense with the reading of the claims report and to approve it as approved by the Claims Committee. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 15 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 6 absent as **Exhibit 9A.**

EXHIBIT 10

Board Member Foster moved with a second by Board Member Chapman to approve the appointment of JoEllen Pensinger for a 3-year Term to the McDonough District Hospital Board. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 11 yeas, 4 nays, 0 pass, and 6 absent as **Exhibit 10A.**

EXHIBIT 11

Board Member Litchfield moved with a second by Board Member Durkin to approve the appointment of Dave Garner for a 3-year Term to the McDonough District Hospital Board. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 9 yeas, 6 nays, 0 pass, and 6 absent as **Exhibit 11A.**

EXHIBIT 12

Board Member Dixon moved with a second by Board Member Blakeley to Re-appoint Jere Greuel for a 3-year Term to the McDonough District Hospital Board. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 15 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 6 absent as **Exhibit 12A**.

EXHIBIT 13

Board Member Hiel moved with a second by Board Member Foster to accept Polling Locations for 2024-2025. Motion carried with a voice vote as **Exhibit 13A.**

EXHIBIT 14

Board Member Litchfield moved with a second by Board Member Clark to approve the Resolution for Election Judge Pay. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 15 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 6 absent as **Exhibit 14A.**

EXHIBIT 15

Board Member Hiel moved with a second by Board Member Foster to approve Law Library Renovations. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 15 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 6 absent as **Exhibit 15A.**

EXHIBIT 16

Board Member Clark moved with a second by Board Member Durkin to approve Pet Population Control Lines A - C. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 15 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 6 absent as **Exhibit 16A.**

EXHIBIT 17

Board Member Cox moved with a second by Board Member Chapman to approve the Resolution to Replace the Bed on Truck 9 (2005 Sterling) with a Stainless-Steel Bed. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 15 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 6 absent as **Exhibit 17A.**

EXHIBIT 18 - 19

Board Member Foster moved with a second by Board Member Litchfield to approve the Intergovernmental Agreements for Seal Coating the North and South Townships. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 1 Present, 14 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 6 absent as **Exhibit 18A & 19A**.

EXHIBIT 20

Board Member Foster moved with a second by Board Member Chapman to approve IDOT Resolution to Spend \$484,770.40 in RBI Funds for County Highway 26 Bridge Section 18-00200-00-BR. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 1 Present, 14 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 6 absent as **Exhibit 20A.**

EXHIBIT 21

Board Member Foster moved with a second by Board Member Chapman to Declare Equipment as Surplus Property Lines A - D. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 15 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 6 absent as **Exhibit 21A**.

EXHIBIT 22

Board Member Blakeley moved with a second by Board Member Erlandson to Enter into Executive Session at 7:34 p.m. pursuant to Chapter 5 Illinois Compiled Statutes Section 120/2 (C) (1) and (2). Motion carried with a roll call vote of 15 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 6 absent.

Board Member Chapman moved with a second by Board Member Blakeley to Exit Executive Session at 7:41 p.m. with no action taken. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 15 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass and 6 absent as **Exhibit 22A**.

EXHIBIT 23

None.

EXHIBIT 24

None.

A moment of silence was taken for the passing of H. Leroy Brown.

Chair Schwerer entertained a motion that Days and Miles are checked, roll be called, and the Board adjourn until Wednesday, February 21, 2024, 2024 at 7:00 p.m. Board Member Blakeley moved with a second by Board Member Foster to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 15 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 6 absent. With no further business to discuss the meeting adjourned at 7:44 p.m. Sheriff Petitgout gave the closing declaration.